We offer one of the best “bird’s-eye” view of south central Pennsylvania from a hot air balloon, here in beautiful York, PA. Soar over York and Lancaster County’s’ rolling hills and open farmlands. Fly inches above the water of the Susquehanna River or Lake Redman. Come and experience the beauty of the Lower Susquehanna Valley area.
Learn about York County’s many contributions to agricultural and industrial progress on a visit to the Agricultural and Industrial Museum. Agricultural artifacts produced or used in York County for over three centuries include locally made wagons, tractors, steam engines and farm tools. Working industrial exhibits include a 72-ton A-Frame ammonia compressor, once used to manufacture large blocks of ice, and three-story gristmill, a hydraulic ramp pump, 1930s telephone exchange, and more.
Practicing the art of fine wine for more than 25 years, with quality winegrowing and winemaking. Every wine from Cabernet to dessert wine is our pleasure to share.
A thrilling downhill experience, AvalancheXpress Snow Tubing & Ice Skating features tubing lanes for all ages, 2 powered rope-lines to tow tubers hilltop and an outdoor ice skating rink. AvalancheXpress offers lighting for night tubing and fire pits to keep you warm. Day & season passes and overnight packages are available. Operates seasonally throughout the winter months, usually from mid-December through mid-March.
How many families can say they lived in a house for almost 100 years? The Bonham family did just that from 1875 to 1965. Horace and Rebekah Bonham moved with two daughters into this home in 1875. Horace trained as a lawyer, but spent most of his life as a painter of portraits, landscapes and genre scenes. Many of his paintings can be seen throughout the structure. One daughter, Elizabeth, continued to live in the house until her death in 1965. Rooms in this three-story house reflect the period from the 1850s to the 1930s. Through a guided tour, visitors learn about life for an upper-middle class family during the late 19th and early 20th centuries.
Thirty-six championship holes, excellent conditioning, speedy greens, lighted driving range, lounge, snack bar, well stocked discount pro shop.
On June 28, 1863, a brigade of Confederate soldiers advanced on York. In an attempt to undo Confederate troop movement eastward across the Susquehanna River, the townspeople of York, who were loyal to the Union, did the only thing they could. They torched the Wrightsville Bridge, a covered bridge that provided them important social and economic links to Lancaster County and points east. The Burning of the Bridge Diorama, housed in a building that stands a stone’s throw from the river, tells the story of the night the bridge was set ablaze. Destruction of the bridge was a strategic act that prevented Confederates from crossing the river. In so doing, the South’s attention turned toward the town of Gettysburg and, thus, altered the Civil War’s outcome.
The 3,490-acre Codorus State Park is in the rolling hills of southern York County. The 1,275-acre Lake Marburg has 26 miles of shoreline and is a rest stop for migrating waterfowl and shorebirds. The lake is popular with sailboaters and motorboaters. Anglers love the lake for warm water fishing and can also fish Codorus Creek for trout. Picnicking, swimming in the pool and camping are popular activities.
Political intrigue, tavern life and 18th century culture – all available in a single visit to this site on the corner of West Market Street and North Pershing Avenue in Downtown York. Four buildings reflect both private and public lives in early York. The Pennsylvania German Golden Plough Tavern, built in 1741, presents the significant role a tavern played in a community as a hotel, restaurant and source for news. The General Gates House (c.1751) reflects the year 1778 when General Horatio Gates occupied the house while the Continental Congress met in York. You can visit a reconstruction of the Colonial Court House where the Second Continental Congress met during York’s nine-month tenure as Capital of the United States, just across the street from the Plough Tavern. The Barnett Bobb Log House, built with squared timbers, in 1812 and relocatd to the site, highlights an average Pennsylvania German home in the early 19th century.
Jim Mack’s Ice Cream is a great places to visit with your family with lots of activities for the young to the old, featuring a large picnic area which can be enjoyed by all, a 24 hole miniature golf course, arcade, mini-zoo, playground, and Bank Shot Basketball. Jim Mack’s Ice Cream was established in 1958. They still make the ice cream on the premises and have expanded the menu to include burgers, hot dogs, french fries and more. In 1984, they added a 24-hole miniature golf course, bank shot basketball and arcade and became known as Cones & Clubs. There are also animals for the kids to feed: bears, pigs, goats and llamas.
Dill’s Tavern is a twelve room stone structure erected from 1794 to 1819. The Dill family (Dillsburg’s namesake) maintained a tavern in Dillsburg, Pennsylvania, beginning in the 1750s and the present-day tavern was one of several business ventures carried on at this site. A large farm, a mill, and a productive distillery kept family members, indentured servants, hired hands, and some slaves busy.
The Northern York County Historical and Preservation Society hired Sam McKinney, Traditional Builder, to restore the Tavern in January 2005. The Tavern is now open as an Interpretive & Educational Center. This means that visitors can use the building and its period contents to experience tavern life in the early 19th Century. Sit in the chairs, lie in the rope beds, watch dinner boiling in the fireplace, and even try hearth cooking yourself. Explore all twelve rooms and handle the items contained in those rooms.
York’s downtown district is an environment that is unique in the region by blending the architectural foundation laid nearly 300 years ago with modern, urban living and entertainment in a business-friendly atmosphere.
The York County Heritage Program is a network of resources – natural, cultural and historic – that are officially designated by the York County Planning Commission. The purpose of the Program is to highlight the special places that make York County unique
Hidden from the busy main street, obscured by trees and thwarted by dirt roads, stands our non descript boutique mill. We have 40 looms, all are considered outdated and worthless to the state of the art overseas mills of today. Since early 1980s we have rescued these looms from the scrap yard and are by all definition; a working museum. We are dedicated to weaving in the tradition of the early textile practices of homespun woven goods. We also strongly believe in USA made and doing our part to help keep manufacturing here.
Fire engines, sirens and old-fashioned alarm systems all await you at the Fire Museum. Stationed in the historic Royal Fire House. The museum holds collections from the more than 200 years of fire-fighting in York County including horse drawn fire carriages, vintage fire trucks, firefighter uniforms, photographs and much more.
Fruit-driven and full-bodied wines. With unique tasting room and relaxed atmosphere, beconing wine connoisseurs come from near and far to taste and enjoy.
The Frosty Putter Miniature Golf Course in Lewisberry, PA (located at 475 Rosstown Road, just south of the blinking light intersection of Routes 177 and 382) offers great family entertainment and super weekday discounts for players.
Gifford Pinchot State Park, a 2,338-acre full service park, is in northern York County along PA 177 between the towns of Rossville and Lewisberry. The park consists of reverting farm fields and wooded hillsides with the 340-acre Pinchot Lake serving as a prime attraction.
Glowgolf offers your family a range of entertainment that’s not the average shot in the dark. Head out for a round of Glow-in-the-Dark Mini Golf, and enjoy golfing like you’ve never seen it before. Whether you’re looking for a fun family escape, or a uniquely entertaining night out for a date, you’ll find happy glows lighting up the Glowgolf fairway.
Goodridge was a freed slave, and self-trained entrepreneur who became one of the richest men in York at the time. His house in York was a station of the Underground Railroad where many Freedom Seekers sought refuge in the straw-filled basement.
Jeff and Melanie Schmuck are the newest proud owners of the Haines Shoe House since 2015! The Haines Shoe House is a shoe-shaped house in York, Pennsylvania, along the Lincoln Highway. Modeled after a work boot, the house was built by shoe salesman Mahlon Haines in 1948 as a form of advertisement. Now open and providing guided tours of the Shoe House! We also serve delicious Beck’s Ice Cream and Mellie’s Makery treats in the retail shop in the heel. Stop by for a tour and get the full story behind Haines the “Shoe Wizard”!
Halloween Park offers one of the largest selections of attractions found in one location, at one of the lowest price points of any professional haunt. We are the only attraction that we know of that offers unlimited access to all attractions for the entire night (over 5 hours on Fridays and Saturdays and over 3 hours on Sundays). We combine these things to be able to offer the most Halloween fun and scares at a price which is nearly half that of most other haunts.
The museum highlights the evolution of the fire service in the Hanover area and honors those who dedicated their lives to protecting the community. Former Fire Commission James Roth, who led the drive to create the new museum notes “The fire museum will be a living and evolving museum with new and changing displays as items are received.”
Built in 1851-1852 by the Hanover Branch Railroad. During the Civil War, the station was raided by Confederates on June 27, 1863, several days before the Battle of Gettysburg. The telegraph wires were cut and railroad bridges over the Codorus Creek were burned. The railroad station was left intact. President Abraham Lincoln visited the station on November 18 and 19, 1863, on his way to give the Gettysburg Address and on April 21,1865, his funeral train passed through Hanover Junction again. A project to restore the station to its 1863 appearance was completed in 2001.
The Free Factory Tour offers a limited view of the assembly line and designated fabrication areas. Tours last approximately one hour. The Steel Toe Tour gives you a chance to experience Harley-Davidson history and get up-close and personal. The tour route has been expanded for smaller groups to provide a more personalized tour experience. The Steel Toe Tour takes you through the manufacturing of fuel tanks, frames, and fenders, as well as many ‘employee only’ areas in paint and polish. The Steel Toe Tour goes behind-the-scenes through areas previously unseen by the public.
Hauser Estate Winery has been established as an alternative agri-tourism venture in the historic area of Gettysburg, Pennsylvania. Grape vineyards are the newest use of our fertile farmland, previously home to acres of Pennsylvania’s apples. With extensive research and encouragement to expand into vineyards, we have excitingly undertaken this newest path into agriculture.
An underground winery production facility sits beneath our 360 degree glass enclosed tasting room that overlooks miles of farmland, orchards, and forests, extending toward the national Civil War Battlefield. On July 22, 2008, the tasting room opened its doors to an enthusiastic public.
Bring your family and friends to Heritage Hills Resort for a round of mini golf! The 18-hole course is both fun and challenging. After your round, enjoy a cool treat from Ye Olde Ice Cream Shoppe, including Ice Cream, Italian Ice, Sodas and more! It’s the perfect spot to enjoy a summer evening.
Established in 1992 and covering 176 acres, the Heritage Rail Trail County Park is 21 miles long and runs north from the Mason Dixon line just south of the Borough of New Freedom through Glen Rock, Hanover Junction, and Seven Valleys in the Howard Tunnel to the Colonial Courthouse in the City of York. The trail connects to Maryland’s 20-mile long Torrey C. Brown Trail. In addition to the Colonial Courthouse, three historic structures are located on the trail; Hanover Junction and New Freedom Train Stations and Howard Tunnel. Since the railway is operational, please stay clear of tracks at all times and cross only at established crossings.
Hickory Falls features a beautifully landscaped 18 hole Mini Golf Course, Indoor Play Area, Rollerball Bowling, 3 level Laser Tag Arena, Water Wars, state of the art Electric Go-Karts, and Family Friendly arcades! Come visit us for a day of fun with your family!
79 acres of scenic meadowlands located on top of a hill over-looking the Susquehanna River. This park was created in 2007 and provides spectacular views of the Susquehanna River. The 193-mile Mason-Dixon Trail runs through the park.
High Rock Winery is a small home based winery with “Down Home Country Wine”. We sit atop the mountainside of Pigeon Hills located in Hanover, PA. We are surrounded by deer and wildlife that tiptoe within feet of our patio. We decided this would be the perfect place to come, sit and enjoy our wine while enjoying the peacefulness of the woods.
Our wines are made with fruits grown from local family and friends of Highrock Winery. The fruits like black and red raspberries, strawberries, and blackberries, are hand picked by “The Winemaker” for ripeness and perfection. The grapes used in our wine are grown locally in York County and Northern PA.
The Museum at Wrightsville is located in a house built in 1871, the former residence of John and Mary Redman. The house was given to Historic Wrightsville, Inc. in 1987 and since that time has served as the home of the organization which has done much to preserve the rich heritage of the town. The first floor of the museum contains exhibit rooms housing permanent exhibits on the history of the town, including information on the different bridges at Wrightsville, and special rotating exhibits on particular aspects of local history.
From quilts to tiny photographs, the Historical Society Museum and Library houses both exhibits and an extensive research library. The building, constructed in 1921 as an automobile dealership, still has the original showroom floor in the spacious two-story entrance hall. William Richley donated the building to the Historical Society in the 1950s. In addition to more than 10,000 square feet of exhibitions, this building also houses the main offices for the York County Heritage Trust.
This is a free whitewater Play park for freestyle kayaking , This park was funded by PPL as part of the plant expansion.
We connect our community to local food. We work to strengthen our local economy by supporting beginning farm businesses, and by encouraging consumers to grow and buy fresh, local food. Community Education: Seasonal events, classes, and workshops provide hands-on opportunities for children and adults to grow, prepare, and preserve locally grown food. Community Gardens: Grow your own food from seed to harvest and enjoy the health benefits of eating the freshest food possible. Incubator Farm Project:Our Incubator Farm Project provides education, marketing support, and infrastructure resources for beginning farmers and beekeepers. Volunteer Opportunities: Most of the work at the Horn Farm is done by volunteers. We love our volunteers and are always looking for more people to join us in our work.
100 year old Arts and Crafts style cabin; over 10,000 Native American Artifacts embedded in the structure. The Indian Steps Cabin celebrates local Native American culture and well as the civilization of early people from all over North America. The artifact-pictographs imbedded throughout the structure reflect John Vandersloot’s extensive research.
Kim’s Krypt Haunted Mill features 4 different scary attractions, food vendors, mask makers and a horror gift shop all in Spring Grove, PA. Kim Yates, owner of Kim’s Krypt Haunted Attraction in Baltimore, MD. took over in June of 2014 after the property was auctioned off. New changes have been made, we are always making changes to improve and we look forward to scaring you all this Halloween Season. RIP skip the line passes are available.
With train rides for all, restored buildings to explore, special event and re-enactments to enjoy, geocaches to find, and a museum full of antiques, railroad artifacts, and milling equipment, the Heritage Village at Muddy Creek Forks is alive with countless people. Come begin your Journey in Time.
Martin’s Potato Chips Factory Tour (call for info)
Jim Miller runs The Miller Carriage and Wagon Museum at his Codorus Township home. Its collection includes long years of collecting wagons, carriages and buggies. The museum, near Glenville, is open by appointment. For details, call 717-235-3673. Admission is free. Donations accepted.
The historic Neas House is a Georgian residence located at West Chestnut and High Streets was built around 1783 by Mathias Neas, a tanner who acquired six lots from his brother, George Neas, in November 1782. The Neas House is closed during the Winter months. Tours are available from April til October on Saturdays from 12:00-3:15.
Filled with artifacts, photographs and clothing, the museum helps a visitor to quickly understand what life was like in the 19th century. The museum also emphasizes the Welsh heritage of the Delta area and features Indian artifacts and Maryland and Pennsylvania railroad material. The Old Line Museum in Delta is great way to discover the history of Pennsylvania. The museum was founded in the 1970’s. The Old Line Museum is open Sunday afternoons. May through September from 1:30 pm until 4:00 pm.
Steam Into History, Inc. operates a Civil War era steam train on the former Northern Central Railway between New Freedom and Hanover Junction PA.
Our teaching museum for the fiber arts and textiles will enable people of all ages to come visit, interact, and learn about this history. The museum will be open to the general public. You’ll be able to learn about the woolen mills and sewing factories that used to be so important to our nations history. If you’re interested in the history of knitting, crocheting, felting, and other expressive fiber arts come join in the fun of taking classes, visit the animals and learn about their fiber, and tour our museum.
TimeLine Arcade is the portal to the past! When you step through the door you will enter an epic world of classic arcade games intertwined with all of the latest game consols. With over 140 games and counting, there is somethings for everyone. TimeLine Arcade is affordably priced and conveniently located in the heart of downtown Hanover and York, Pennsylvania.
Wallace-Cross Mill is a restored 1826 water-powered grist mill located near Cross Roads, East Hopewell Township. Wallace-Cross Mill was listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1977. Harry Cross, the last operator of the mill presented the building to York County in 1979. In 2006, the second and third floors of the mill were opened with new displays containing mill equipment and history on local milling. These displays further enhanced the operating mill located on the first floor.
The Myers Mansion was built over a period of three years, beginning in 1911, as the residence of Clinton N. Myers of Hanover Shoe Company. The mansion already included the solarium with its marble floors, but the Myers’ plans included enclosing the porches at the rear of the house before completing the rest of the mansion. Mr. Warehime added the beveled leaded glass and art glass to these porches. He also added the fountain, gazebo and lions to the grounds. The bowling alley in the basement is still intact, as are the intricately Greek Key design border in the oak floors throughout the mansion. Very little in the structure has changed over the years and it is in excellent condition.
The York Ice Arena is South Central PA’s Premier Ice Sports Facility. We have Public Skating, Hockey, Learn to Skate, and more! Come check us out!
The historic blue stone home, known to many as the Dritt Mansion, sits on a hill overlooking the Susquehanna River. The grounds and river access facilities are open to the public from dawn to dusk everyday. The house is open Wednesday through Saturday from 10:00 a.m. – 4:00 p.m. and features Visions of the Susquehanna river art collection. Guided house tours are offered on Friday and Saturday at 11:00 a.m. and 2:00 p.m. for a $3 donation per person.